Below are directions on finding the permallnk. You do not need to read through the instructions below as part of your information literacy instruction (library orientation).
Sometimes an instructor will ask you to send them a link to an article you find in the library databases. Usually the URL in the address bar will not allow your instructor into the article. You will need to send your instructor the permalink to the article.
If you are having trouble locating the permalink, please contact us in the library. It is helpful if you send us the title of the article and any citation information you may have.
The URL in the address bar when using the library databases will usually not get you back to the article again. Instead, use the permanent link or permalink to save or send to your instructor.
Below are directions on how to find the permanent link or permalink to nursing articles. Finding the permanent link when using OneSearch on the library homepage is shown first followed by how to locate the permanent link when using CINAHL Complete, and the Wiley or ScienceDirect databases.
As always, please contact us if you need help!
It is easy to find the permanent link or permalink when using CINAHL Complete.
Below is a search string in CINAHL Complete looking for peer-reviewed articles on measles immunization.
Below is a screen shot of the results.
Below is the first article. The find full text link in the left-hand column will find the full text in the Wiley database. Unfortunately, Wiley does not provide a permanent link to the article. Instead use the permanent link or permalink is in the right hand column of CINAHL (or EBSCOhost).
The URL in the address bar when using the library databases will usually not get you back to the article again. Instead, use the permanent link or permalink to save or send to your instructor.
Below are directions on how to find the permanent link or permalink to nursing articles. Finding the permanent link when using OneSearch on the library homepage is shown first followed by how to locate the permanent link when using CINAHL Complete, and the Wiley or ScienceDirect databases.
As always, please contact us if you need help!
Below is a screen shot of OneSearch results when looking for peer-reviewed, full text article published within the last five years. Note the permanent link or permalink to the articles on the right.
If we click on the title to the first article, we will go to the full text of the article in ProQuest. Note that when you click on Cite in the right-hand column, a permanent link to the article is not usually given. The DOI or document object identifier will not necessarily get you back to the article again.
The OneSearch results, however, will.
It is easy to find the permanent link or permalink when using CINAHL Complete.
Below is a search string in CINAHL Complete looking for peer-reviewed articles on measles immunization.
Below is a screen shot of the results.
Below is the first article. The find full text link in the left-hand column will find the full text in the Wiley database. Unfortunately, Wiley does not provide a permanent link to the article. Instead use the permanent link or permalink is in the right hand column of CINAHL (or EBSCOhost).
It is harder to find the permanent link when an article is in from Wiley or ScienceDirect databases.
Below is a screen shot from a ScienceDirect article. There is not an easily accessible permanent link to the article. The DOI will work on campus and from off campus if you have already logged into the library databases. It is better to get a link that will work from on or off campus.
To get an easily accessible permanent link, copy the article title and paste it into the OneSearch box on the SC4 Library homepage.
Please contact the library if you need help!
You can always contact the librarians if you need help locating the permanent URL. Send us the full citation or article title and author and we will send you back a permanent URL.
