Library: ENG 075 Dr. O'Brien: Marshmallow test

Contact the Library

Jane Lewandoski

Email Me

Contact:

Phone (810) 989-5640
Text (810) 515-7343
library@sc4.edu

Suggested keywords

Use some of the keywords shown below to create your search string.

"marshmallow experiment" OR "marshmallow test"
"attention span"
"delayed reinforcement" OR "delayed gratification" OR "delay of gratification"
"self-control" OR "self discipline"
rewards
"decision making"

Databases

Psychology Database
Coverage ranges from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics.
ERIC
The Education Resource Information Center (ERIC) is an online library of education research and information, sponsored by the Institute of Education Science of the U.S. Department of Education.
Gale eBooks
A database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Social Science Database
Social Science Database offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines.

Related journal articles

"The Effects of Presenting Delays before and After Task Completion on Self-Control Responding in Children with Behavior Disorders."
Gadaire, Dana M., Wayne W. Fisher, and Mark Steege. "The Effects of Presenting Delays before and After Task Completion on Self-Control Responding in Children with Behavior Disorders." Journal of Applied Behavior Analysis 47.1 (2014): 192-7. Web. 4 Mar. 2015.
Desire: The New Hot Spot in Self-Control Research
Hofmann, Wilhelm, and Lotte Van Dillen. "Desire: The New Hot Spot in Self-Control Research." Current Directions in Psychological Science 21.5 (2012): 317-22. Web. 4 Mar. 2015.
Rational snacking: Young children’s decision-making on the marshmallow task is moderated by beliefs about environmental reliability
Kidd, Celeste, Holly Palmeri, and Richard N. Aslin. "Rational Snacking: Young Children?s Decision-Making on the Marshmallow Task is Moderated by Beliefs about Environmental Reliability." Cognition 126.1 (2013): 109-14. Web. 4 Mar. 2015.

From abstract: "Here we provide evidence that, in addition to self-control, children’s wait-times are modulated by an implicit, rational decision-making process that considers environmental reliability"
"A Mindful Child may be a Focused One: Advocates Say Grade-School Children can Benefit from the Practice; but Critics See Religion in Disguise."
Holland, Emily. "Unleashing Innovation: Health Care (A Special Report) --- A Mindful Child may be a Focused One: Advocates Say Grade-School Children can Benefit from the Practice; but Critics See Religion in Disguise." Wall Street Journal, Eastern edition ed.Feb 17 2015. ProQuest. Web. 4 Mar. 2015 .

ENG 075 Dr. O'Brien

Contact the Library

Suggested keywords

Databases

Related journal articles

Don't Eat the Marshmallow Yet

The Marshmallow Test

Walter Mischel on his Marshmallow Experiment