OneSearch allows you to search almost all of the library databases at once. You can narrow down your results using the limiters in the left-hand column of your results.
Below are a video and written directions on how to use OneSearch to find information for a nursing cultural assessment assignment. You do not have to view both, but there are different examples for each of them.
You can use OneSearch to find scholarly articles, books, and academic videos on almost any topic. Below is a written example of using OneSearch to find material for the Cultural Assessment Assignment. You may also want to check the Cultural Assessment Library Research Guide for more help on the assignment.
For this example, the following search string was used: (Jewish OR Judaism OR Israel) AND (death OR dying OR “end of life”) AND nursing
See Search Strategies for more help.
You can narrow your search to Full Text Online, if desired.
Below is information on the first article in the results.
You can email the article to yourself from the OneSearch results. The permalink or permanent link is the link you would need to find the article again from on or off campus. The link in your internet browser address bar will not work from off campus.
The OneSearch results will also show you how to cite your article. Be sure to choose APA format for Nursing assignments.
If you click on the title of the article should link you directly to the database. An abstract or summary of the article is usually presented. Sometimes you have to click on the PDF link to see the full text. The PDF format is easy to save on your laptop or device.
Most databases will provide a link showing you how to cite the article. Your OneSearch result screen will also show you how to cite if it is not available in the database.
Occasionally, you may come across articles that are not full text online even if you restrict your search results to full text. You can always request journal articles by completing an interlibrary loan form. There is a button for this request in the right-hand column of the library homepage.
