Skip to main content SC4 Library Logo

Award Winning Titles

The Nobel Prize in Literature

The Nobel Foundation, a private institution established in 1900, has ultimate responsibility for fulfilling the intentions in Alfred Nobel’s will. The main mission of the Nobel Foundation is to manage Alfred Nobel’s fortune in a manner that ensures a secure financial standing for the Nobel Prize over the long term and that the prize-awarding institutions are guaranteed independence in their work of selecting recipients.

The Foundation is also tasked with strengthening the Nobel Prize’s position by administering and developing the brands and intangible assets that have been built up during the Nobel Prize’s history, which spans more than 100 years.

The Nobel Foundation also strives to safeguard the prize-awarding institutions’ common interests and to represent the Nobel organisation as a whole. In the past two decades a number of outreach activities have been developed with the aim of inspiring and disseminating knowledge about the Nobel Prize.


Kazuo Ishiguro - 2017 Nobel Prize in Literature

Bob Dylan - 2016 Nobel Prize in Literature

Svetlana Alexievich - 2015 Nobel Prize in Literature

Patrick Modiano - 2014 Nobel Prize in Literature

Alice Munro - 2013 Nobel Prize in Literature

Mo Yan - 2012 Nobel Prize in Literature