Skip to main content
Library research guides
Group study space
Computers and software
Microsoft Office 365
Location & hours
St. Clair County Community College
Library Research Guides
Search this Guide
Creative Commons licenses
OER and Open Licensed repositories
Interactive learning tools
How to attribute
Using Canvas Commons
Learn more about OER
OER and Open Licensed repositories
Open Oregon Educational Resources
Ebooks published by Open Oregon community of college partners.
Center for Open Educational Resources & Language Learning supports open learning materials in a variety of languages.
Cool 4 Ed
The three State of California Higher Education Systems are working together to provide you easy access to quality FREE and OPEN eTextbooks that everyone and anyone can use for teaching and learning
Creative Commons - Open Archives
Use this prototype to find images that you can use and remix, across several open archives
Creative Commons Search
Search a number of content sources including Flickr, YouTube, Wikimedia Commons, and more.
Digital Commons Network
The Digital Commons Network brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, the Network includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)
The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world.
DS106 Assignment Bank
This site hosts the assignments that partipants in the open online digital storytelling course, ds106, complete as part of their work in the course. Rather than specifying assignments everyone must do, participants can choose from an array of ones included on this site- all of them have been created by course participants.
Fordham University Internet History Sourcebooks
The Internet History Sourcebooks Project is a collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts presented cleanly (without advertising or excessive layout) for educational use.
Global Text Project
We publish open content electronic textbooks that are freely available from this website. We focus on content development and Web distribution, and we will work with relevant authorities to facilitate dissemination by other means when bandwidth is unavailable or inadequate. The goal is to make textbooks available to the many who cannot afford them.
Google Arts & Culture
Explore collections from around the world. Created by Google Cultural Institute. Rights and permissions may vary depending on partner institution.
GVSU Open Education Materials
ScholarWorks@GVSU is an open-access repository maintained by the GVSU Libraries that showcases and maintains works by GVSU scholars. The mission of ScholarWorks@GVSU is to collect and preserve scholarly and creative works by GVSU faculty, staff and students. Materials in ScholarWorks@GVSU may be viewed by anyone.
Hoover Institution Digital Collections
A growing collection of digitized posters, photographs, manuscripts, moving images, sound recordings, and other historical materials from the Hoover Institution Library & Archives
the sharing and collaboration network for people working in and around the humanities. Discover the latest open-access scholarship and teaching materials, make interdisciplinary connections, build a WordPress Web site, and increase the impact of your work by sharing it in the repository. Brought to you by the MLA.
Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.
Guide to using Kahn Academy in Higher Ed math programs.
MERLOT is a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community.
National Academies Press
The NAP publishes more than 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and medicine, providing authoritative information on important matters in science and health policy. offer Offers more than 8,500 titles in PDF format. Almost all of these PDFs can be downloaded for free by the chapter or the entire book.
The OAPEN Library contains freely accessible academic books, mainly in the area of humanities and social sciences. OAPEN works with publishers to build a quality controlled collection of open access books, and provides services for publishers, libraries and research funders in the areas of deposit, quality assurance, dissemination, and digital preservation.
OER Commons is a dynamic digital library and network. Explore open education resources and join our network of educators dedicated to curriculum improvement.
OER Commons - Michigan Colleges Online
Open Access Text
OA Text is an independent open-access scientific publisher showcases innovative research and ideas aimed at improving health by linking research and practice to the benefit of society. It is committed to providing a 'peer reviewed' platform to outstanding researchers and scientists to exhibit their findings. It publishes original research, analyses and reviews, news, practice updates and thought-provoking editorials.
Open Culture - 700 free audiobooks
Download hundreds of free audio books, mostly classics, to your MP3 player or computer.
Search or Browse for Open Access Repositories
Open Education Consortium
"The Open Education Consortium is a worldwide community of hundreds of higher education institutions and associated organizations committed to advancing open education and its impact on global education. "
OpenStax is a nonprofit based at Rice University, and it’s our mission to improve student access to education. Our first open source college textbook was published in 2012 and has since scaled to more than 20 books used by hundreds of thousands of students across the globe.
View and share free educational material in small modules that can be organized as courses, books, reports or other academic assignments.
Open Textbook Library - UMN
Open textbooks are textbooks that have been funded, published, and licensed to be freely used, adapted, and distributed. These books have been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities to assess their quality. These books can be downloaded for no cost, or printed at low cost. All textbooks are either used at multiple higher education institutions; or affiliated with an institution, scholarly society, or professional organization. The Open Textbook Library is supported by the Center for Open Education and the Open Textbook Network.
Open Textbook Store
We scour the Internet for the best quality textbooks issued under open licenses that allow for printing. Instead of finding a list of 500+ books, you'll find a short list of books we feel are really adoptable and ready to use in a college classroom.
PLOS (Public Library of Science)
PLOS was founded in 2001 as a nonprofit Open Access publisher, innovator and advocacy organization with a mission to accelerate progress in science and medicine by leading a transformation in research communication.
Registry of Open Access Repositories
The aim of ROAR is to promote the development of open access by providing timely information about the growth and status of repositories throughout the world. Open access to research maximises research access and thereby also research impact, making research more productive and effective.
Saylor Academy Textbooks
Each of the 100+ books listed below is freely available for download, online reading, and sharing, under one of various open licenses. Check each book for specific terms.
"The Teaching Commons showcases high-quality open educational resources from leading colleges and universities and makes them available to educators and students around the world. Curated by librarians and their institutions and hosted by bepress, the Teaching Commons includes open-access textbooks, course materials, lesson plans, multimedia, lectures, k-12 materials, and more."
ED is a nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks (18 minutes or less). TED began in 1984 as a conference where Technology, Entertainment and Design converged, and today covers almost all topics — from science to business to global issues — in more than 100 languages.
Vimeo Creative Commons
Browse and search Vimeo's library of Creative Commons licensed videos.
Openly licensed books are authored by a community of contributors.
Orange Grove Texts Plus
Orange Grove Text Plus (OGT+) is a joint initiative of the University of Florida Press and the LibraryPress@UF imprint
University of Oxford : Podcasts
Oxford University provides open content under a Creative Commons licence free for reuse, remixing and redistribution in education worldwide.
Search our collection of open textbooks. The curated collection aligns with top subject areas in post-secondary education and many of the textbooks have been reviewed and vetted by educators across the country.
Internet Archive Book Images
Over 5,000,000 images from the Internet Archive.
Interactive learning tools
Customizable learning materials and interactive quizzes allow instructors to build content to share with their students.
MoM - My Open Math
MyOpenMath runs on the open source, IMathAS platform, providing free hosted use of this platform in support of free, open textbooks like the ones listed on OpenTextBookStore.com. The intent is to provide classroom use of the platform, without any required cost to students, for schools wanting a managed install of the IMathAS platform, and to provide students self-study opportunities.
Smithsonian Learning Lab
Discover more than a million resources, create personal collections and educational experiences, and share your work.
Build a lesson around any TED-Ed Original, TED Talk or YouTube video.
WeBWorK is a well-tested homework system for delivering individualized problems over the web. By providing students with immediate feedback as to the correctness of their answers, students can be encouraged to make multiple attempts until they succeed. With individualized problem sets, students can work together but will have to enter their own work to receive credit.
The instructors are provided with real-time statistics, resulting in lesson plans that can be customized to better serve students.
Build and play interactive learning games. Wisc-Online offers an ever-growing library of learning objects freely available to students and learners at any level, teachers, parents, and anyone else anywhere on the globe. The digital library of objects has been developed primarily by subject matter experts from the Wisconsin Technical College System (WTCS) and produced by a team of instructional designers, technical editors, and multimedia developers from Fox Valley Technical College's Learning Innovations team.
By creating a set of free, high-quality, demonstrably effective lessons with the help of educators from around the world, Oppia aims to provide students with quality education — regardless of where they are or what traditional resources they have access to.
Freely available, quality content for developers worldwide. Ebooks are free, and print copies are available for purchase.
Designing for Diverse Learners. FLOE provides the resources to personalize how we each learn and to address barriers to learning. Learners learn differently, and today’s society needs diverse, self-aware, life-long learners. FLOE supports learners, educators and curriculum producers in achieving one-size-fits-one learning design for the full diversity of learners, leveraging the variants made possible by Open Education Resources (OER).
Do-it - University of Washington
Promoting inclusion and success for people with disabilities
Cool 4 Ed : Accessibility
Provides accessibility review tools for considering OER.
Get your students excited about learning in a modern, easy-to-use environment with the web tools they know and love
OER Commons (MCO Hub)
The MCO created the Michigan Colleges Online Hub for our member institutions as a way to reduce costs for students, increase student success and completion, and allow for inter-institutional collaboration with faculty. Our Institutions are creating, sharing, and collaborating on high-quality OER for use in today's classrooms. Join a group and begin contributing today.
Design and publish your own ebooks for free or minimal cost.
Creative Commons licenses
How to attribute >>
Mar 20, 2020 3:10 PM
Report a problem
Open Education & Textbook Affordability