Ecology: Reference Resources

Contains clear, accurate, and up-to-date articles on the most important topics within seven major areas: autecology, population ecology, communities and ecosystems, landscapes and the biosphere, conservation biology, ecosystem services, and biosphere management.

Alphabetically arranged and cross-referenced, this dictionary provides essential information on all life-science terms, including genetic fingerprinting and food technology.

From the SAGE Reference Series on Green Society, this work provides an overview of the key concepts that urban planners, policy makers, and architects, engineers, and developers use to understand the sustainability dimensions of the urban environment. It identifies cities that have taken steps to become greener and discusses the strategies they have used. It reviews broad concepts associated with green cities. ...

A basic description of ecology and the ecological roles animals play in various biomes.

It provides comprehensive coverage of biology, biophysics, and biochemistry, includes biographical entries on key scientists, and features highlighted entries on important topics such as bioinformatics, genomics, molecular evolution, and protein structure. The new edition also features web links accessed via a companion website. ...

Encyclopedia of Evolution contains more than 200 entries that span modern evolutionary science and the history of its development.

The popular view of the tropical rainforest as a monolithic tangle of rain-soaked trees, vines, birds, monkeys and big cats is a widespread myth. Tropical Rain Forests: An Ecological and Biogeographical Comparison explodes that myth by showing that rain forests in different tropical regions are unique despite superficial similarities.

Rainforests of the World covers everything from the basic biology and chemistry of rainforests and their geographic location to problems, controversies, and solutions.