Search the library databases with OneSearch. Use the filters to narrow the results.
Suggested terms for the ADN death and dying assignment:
Suggested for the nursing AND [country OR ethnic group]:
Suggested terms for the health care AND [country]:
You can use OneSearch to find scholarly articles, books, and academic videos on almost any topic. Below is a written example of using OneSearch to find information for the Cultural Assessment Assignment. You may also want to check the Cultural Assessment Library Research Guide for more help on the assignment.
For this example, the following search string was used: (Jewish OR Judaism OR Israel) AND (death OR dying OR “end of life”) AND nursing
(See Search Strategies if you would like help with your search terms.)
Narrow the search results to Full Text Online, if desired.
The first article listed in the results is shown below.
There are multiple ways to save the article:
OneSearch will also show you how to cite your article. Be sure to choose APA format for Nursing assignments.
Clicking on the title of the article should link you directly to the database where you can usually find an abstract or summary of the article and the full text. Use the PDF link to the full text, if available, because it is easy to save on a laptop.
Most databases will provide a link to citing the article. The OneSearch result screen will also show you how to cite if it is not available in the database.
Occasionally, you may come across articles that are not full text online. You may request journal articles or print books by completing an interlibrary loan form.
All Cultures
Use the tabs across the top of this box for additional information.
The Afterlife Book: Heaven, Hell, and Life After Death by 
Death Across Cultures Death and Dying in Non-Western Cultures by 
Death and Bereavement Across Cultures by 
Fast Facts for the Faith Community Nurse by 
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America by 
Living with the Dead by
Spanning geographies, cultures, and the ages, a moving journey into the physical facts and metaphysical mysteries of how the living care for the dead. Death is universal. It will meet us all. But it's also a practical problem--what do we do with dead bodies? Vibeke Maria and Andreas Viestad live by a cemetery and are daily spectators of its routines, and their fascination with burials has led them to dig deep to examine our relationship with the dead. Taking us on a journey around the world and into the past, the Viestads explore how the deceased are honored and cared for, cremated, and buried. From archaeological sites in Spain, Israel, and Russia to environmentally friendly burials in the United States and Ghana's fantasy coffins, and from cremations without fire to the new industry turning our dearly departed's ashes into diamonds, this empathetic and enthralling book is for anyone who knows their turn is coming, but who'd like a good book for the journey.
Religious Understandings of a Good Death in Hospice Palliative Care by 
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture
The Gale Encyclopedia of DietsKeywords:
Journey to Heaven: Exploring Jewish Views of the Afterlife by 
Multifaith Care for Sick and Dying Children and Their Families by Keywords:
(Jewish OR Judaism OR Israel) AND (death OR dying OR “end of life”) AND nursing
Death and Bereavement Across Cultures by Multifaith Care for Sick and Dying Children and Their Families by 
Prayers and Rituals at a Time of Illness and DyingMultifaith Care for Sick and Dying Children and Their Families by Keywords:
A Comparison of the Health Systems in China and India by 
Death in Asia: From India to Mongolia by Multifaith Care for Sick and Dying Children and Their Families by
(Hindu OR India) AND ("end of life" OR palliative)
Multifaith Care for Sick and Dying Children and Their Families by 
Interweaving of Rituals: Funerals in the Cultural Exchange between China and Europe by Prayers and Rituals at a Time of Illness and DyingPrayers and Rituals at a Time of Illness and Dying
Cultural Competencies for Nurses by 
The State of Nursing and Nursing Education in Africa: A Country-by-country Review
Affirmative Action in Medicine: Improving Health Care for Everyone
Black and Blue: The Origins and Consequences of Medical Racism
Writing Your Nursing Portfolio
Fundamentals of Nursing Models, Theories and Practice 2nd Edition with Wiley E-TextPotential keywords
Cultural Blending in Korean Death Rites by 
Death and the Afterlife in Modern France by 
Death Across Cultures: Death and Dying in Non-Western Cultures by Suggested search strings:
(Norway OR Norwegian) AND (funeral* OR palliative)
Keywords:
(Jamaica OR Jamaican) AND ("palliative care" OR "end of life") AND nursing
Keywords:
Cherokee AND ("end of life" OR palliative) AND nursing
Find out if the country / ethnic group practices a predominate religion. For example, in Macedonia, about 60% of the people practice Eastern Orthodox and 35% are Muslim. (See Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices link below.) Religious traditions can influence end of life care. An electronic reference book is a good source to find this information.
Suggested keywords:
(Macedonia OR Macedonian) AND ("end of life" OR palliative)
"Eastern Orthodox" AND ("end of life" OR palliative)
