Skip to main content
Library research guides
Group study space
Computers and software
Microsoft Office 365
Location & hours
Library Research Guides
Search this Guide
Books & ebooks
Adoption Process in the U.S.
About the American Family
Searching the Internet
Search newspapers for obituaries and birth, wedding, or death announcements.
Canadian Newsstand Complete
New York Times (1851-2007) with Index (1851-1993) (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Daily Life Through History
World History: The Modern Era
Finding your roots
Finding your roots : Season 1
The basic drive to discover who we are and where we come from is at the core of this 10-part PBS series Finding Your Roots with Henry Louis Gates. Continuing on the quest begun in his previous projects, Gates finds new ways to, as he says, "get into the DNA of American culture." He takes viewers along for the journey with one celebrity pair bound together by an intimate, sometimes hidden link.
Finding your roots: Season 2
In the second season of "Finding Your Roots with Henry Louis Gates, Jr.", Professor Gates continues that journey, utilizing a team of genealogists to reconstruct the paper trail left behind by our ancestors and the world's leading geneticists to decode our DNA and help us travel thousands of years into the past to discover the origins of our earliest forebears.
Finding your roots: website
Includes profiles, behind the scenes, videos, and stories submitted by viewers.
Finding your roots in the digital age webinar
Technology has made it easier than ever to retrace our ancestry and uncover fascinating insights into our past. Join PBS and Dr. Henry Louis Gates, Jr., Harvard scholar and host of PBS' Finding Your Roots series for a look into how science and storytelling come together to reveal the rich histories of his guests. You'll also learn strategies for integrating classroom-ready social studies and science resources developed from the series.
Phone (810) 989-5640
Text (810) 515-7343
Research suggestions from Lisa H., SC4 library staff member
“Genealogy without documentation is mythology” - Anonymous. Family stories do not mean anything;
documentation is proof.
Start with yourself and work backwards.
Organize your findings in a genealogy program such as Legacy family Tree. (Free Edition:
You will never have to upgrade to the paid version because the free version does not expire.)
Do not be concerned about spelling changes/errors. For example, Schultz may have been recorded by census takers as Shultz, Schults, or Chultz.
Church records are best. Look for baptismal, marriage, or death records. They often list the name of parents, siblings, etc.
Check newspapers for obituaries.
Look for military draft records.
While online visit the public library of a city and see what resources are available. Sometimes emailing a specific request will get you the document you want in digital format.
While online visit the county historical society and see what resources are available.
Don’t forget to research the siblings of your ancestor! You might find that missing elderly parent living with a sibling, etc.
Record and cite your sources! (As you progress, you will find you cannot remember where you found that birthdate.)
Evernote note taking software is a easy way to organize and save information across various platforms or devices.
for a link to the free software program.
for more information about how one genealogists uses Evernote.
Nearly all records from the 1890 U.S. Census were destroyed in a fire and flood.
Records to check
Records to check
Census (1790-1940 - the 1890 census was ruined in a fire) Each census asks different questions.
City Directory (similar to a phone book it lists the person, their occupation and residence – came out yearly)
Vital Records (birth, marriage, death)
Newspapers (brings your family to life with news stories and obituaries)
Cemetery Records (you may discover other family members in the section)
Dead Fred Genealogy Photo Archive:
Not every ancestor came in through Ellis Island in New York. Visit Castle Garden for immigration records:
Census and other records compiled by the Church of Latter Day Saints. Includes some probate court material.
The Statue of Liberty - Ellis Island Foundation: Ellis Island Records
Castle Garden: America's First Immigration Center
CastleGarden.org is an educational project of The Battery Conservancy. This free site offers access to an extraordinary database of information on 11 million immigrants from 1820 through 1892, the year Ellis Island opened. More than 100 million Americans can trace their ancestors to this early immigration period.
The Michigan Room at the St. Clair County Public Library
The Michigan Room is a local history collection housed on the lower level of the Library Headquarters in Port Huron. This collection, of particular interest to historians and genealogists, includes materials about St. Clair County and the Thumb Region such as plat atlases, out-of-print texts on Michigan history, directories, Civil War records, and High School Year Books. None of the Michigan Room materials may be checked out, and must be used in the library with the assistance of a Reference Librarian.
Includes Sanilac County information!
Library of Congress Local History & Genealogy Reference Services
The Library of Congress has one of the world's premier collections of U.S. and foreign genealogical and local historical publications. The Library's genealogy collection began as early as 1815 with the purchase of Thomas Jefferson's library.
Library of Congress Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Includes some local newspapers such as the Yale Expositor.
The U.S. National Archives: Genealogy
A selection of links for how to do genealogical research, genealogy resources around the world, and searchable databases.
Death certificates from 1898-1920
Census records from 1884 and 1894
World War I draft records which include citizens and immigrants.
Links to digital collections of numerous libraries and organizations, such as the University of Michigan Bentley Historical Library Web Archives.
Census records. Links to Ancestry.com which costs $$$$ Free trial available for 14 days
$$$$$ Free trial available.
Detroit Public Library Burton Historical Collection
The BHC is both a repository of records of the past and a workshop of historical activity in the present, with emphasis on the history of Detroit and Michigan from the time of settlement in the 17th century to the present.
Genealogical materials in the BHC include federal census population schedules, family histories, cemetery inscriptions, church records of baptisms, marriages, and deaths, military records, hereditary society indexes, heraldry books, immigration records, probate indexes and records, vital records, obituaries, and land records.
Find a Grave
Check often because new material is added frequently.
Dead Fred Genealogy Photo Archive
FamilySearch.org - U.S. Census Form headings 1790 -
Shows column headings for census forms from 1790-1940.
The mission of this project is to coordinate a United States census transcription effort by recruiting, guiding, and helping volunteer transcribers. Our goal is to provide free access to Online Research Data for everyone.
Online Military Records
Using the Access to Archival Databases (AAD) System, you can access and search some of the National Archives' holdings of databases and other electronic or computerized records. These include many military records, such as Enlistment Records, Casualty Reports, Prisoner of War Data, and other records that may be of interest to anyone doing veterans or military research.
Sanilac Country Museum
Houses many family records relevant to history of Sanilac county and its families.
Sandusky District Library
Documents related to the history, events, and people of Sanilac county.
"Birth, Marriage and Death: How to Find Vital Records."
Books & ebooks >>
Nov 5, 2019 9:47 AM
Report a problem