Skip to main content SC4 Library Logo

Speech Communication: MLA Format

This library guide provides an introduction to library resources related to Speech Communication 101.

WEB RESOURCES FOR MLA STYLE

The websites listed below offer helpful tools related to MLA formatting.

What is Refworks?

Refworks is a web-based bibliography and database manager that allows you to create your own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases and other various sources. You can use these references in writing papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography in seconds.

Through Refworks users can...

1. Create a personal database of references via import or manual entry

2. Edit and format references to fit any style guide

3. Arrange references into folders to stay organized

4. Format papers and bibliographies instantly

...and much more!

A detailed guide to using RefWorks is available here.

Citing a speech

Sample MLA Paper Format

The first page of an MLA style paper should resemble the model below.

Formatting "Do's" (using Microsoft Word)

  • Do use a standard font & size (12pt) that is easy to read (Times New Roman, Calibri, Cambria, etc.)
  • Do set your line spacing to "double space" (Page Layout -> Paragraph ->Spacing -> Line Spacing -> Double) *Make sure the spacing before and after boxes are set to "0"
  • Do set your page margins to 1" (Page Layout -> Margins -> Normal)
  • Do include your last name and page number in a running header 1/2" from top of page (Insert -> Header)
  • Do include Your Name, Your Instructor's Name, Name of Course/Class, and the Date below the header, in the top left corner of the page.
  • Do center the title of your paper below your name information.
  • Do indent the first line of each paragraph 1/2"

Formatting "Do Not's" (using Microsoft Word)

  • Do not use a font just because it takes up a lot of space or because it is trendy (Courier, Script, anything bold or difficult to read)
  • Do not underline, bold, italic, or use quotation mark in the title of your paper
  • Do not add an extra line space between paragraphs. Always start the next paragraph on the next line directly below the previous one.
  • Do not wait until you are finished writing the paper to format it. It is always easier to start out with and maintain consistent fomatting from the beginning.

 

Contact the library

SC4 Library's picture
SC4 Library
Contact:
St. Clair County Community College Library
323 Erie St., P.O. Box 5015
Port Huron, MI 48061-5015
Library main (810) 989-5640
Library fax (810) 989-5773
SMS (810) 515-7343
library@sc4.edu